DelCo’s Original Steaks and Hoagies: A Review

17 Feb

My better half is a native Philadelphian.  She moved down to St. Petersburg a handful of years back because of her undying love for me.  Sweet and misguided, and that’s why I love her.  Also, she knows how to eat, and she knows her way around a cheese steak.  So when she came home from work and told me about a place her coworker had taken her to that served steaks likes the one’s she used to buy in the City of Brotherly Love, well it was a forgone conclusion we’d be heading down to that place as soon as possible.

The place is DelCo’s Original Steaks and Hoagies.  It’s located in a shopping complex storefront on Main Street in Dunedin. 

The restaurant is bright and open and inviting.  The gigantic Philadelphia Flyers flag hanging on the far wall is attention getting to say the least. 

The woman at the counter was polite and efficient in taking our orders.  No nonsense.  Philly-style.  I ordered a cheese steak with peppers and onions and a basket of cheese fries.  My trusted dining companion ordered a chicken steak with mozzarella and peppers.

We had a seat in a corner booth and didn’t have to wait long before our food arrived.  Cheese fries came out first.  The fries were hot and crisp and the neon orange cheese was plentiful and wonderfully bad for me.  I loved them.

Then our steaks arrived.  Now, let’s get this out of the way.  I’ve never met a cheesesteak I didn’t like.  Whether it’s from the hallowed Pat’s in Philly or the Steak Escape in any mall food court, it’s all good to me.  However, my Delco’s steak was very good.  The roll was soft inside, slightly crisped, and structurally sound.  The steak was chopped efficiently and piled high and deep.  It was hot, evenly coated in cheese, and studded with my peppers and onions (insert Homer Simpson’s drooling sound here).  And it was large.  I only finished half.  I would say I felt like less than a man, but I got to happily enjoy the other half later that night, so screw my almost nonexistent manhood. 

I tried a big bite of the chicken steak, and in a surprising turn of events, I think I liked the chicken steak even more!  The chicken was cooked to perfectly tender, avoiding the always ever present threat of rubberiness.  The mozzarella tied the whole thing together with the peppers for a wholly enjoyable experience.

After stuffing myself into a state of perfect contentment, I fancied a wander down DelCo’s aisle of Philly snacks: Tastykakes and Herr’s as far as the eye could see.  I loaded up (although they didn’t have any of my beloved Dark Russet Kettle Chips) and was already eating some Sour Cream and Onions before I left the parking lot.  The bill for two steaks, cheese fries, a fountain drink, and a bottle of water came to around $20 (I lost the receipt in my Herr’s excitement).

The place is cash only, so come prepared.  Some pants with an elastic waistband wouldn’t be a bad idea either. 

I am a fan of DelCo’s.  I can’t wait to go back.  I only thank the good king Odin that the restaurant isn’t close to my apartment.  That could easily lead to an unfortunate rag on a stick bathing situation, and that’s not good for anybody.

Go to DelCo’s and get a steak.  It will make your day better.

DelCo’s Original Steaks and Hoagies
1737 Main Street
Dunedin, FL 34698
(727) 738-4700

Delco's Original Steaks and Hoagies on Urbanspoon

One Response to “DelCo’s Original Steaks and Hoagies: A Review”

  1. Jaws October 18, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    I agree they are good but have you tried Philly’s Famous Cheesesteaks in Largo? It’s a bit closer to you and has ( i know this will be hard to believe) even better cheesesteaks. As a former Philadelphian I know how hard it is to get a good cheesesteak.
    I read the review on the Largo Patch and boy they were right on about Philly’s

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

