The Library Coffeehouse: A Review

9 Aug

Six months!  Has it been that long?  This blog was originally a side project that I started when I had a little bit of free time over Christmas break.  But as school started up again and began crushing my dreams and stealing large bits of my soul, I couldn’t keep up with it.  I put it on an indefinite hiatus.  And I started to feel bad about giving crappy reviews to local joints.  I’m sensitive.  I teared up at The Rise of the Planet of the Apes.

But last week I logged on to the email that I have associated with this blog and found a handful of encouraging emails, including an owner invitation to check out a new coffee shop in South Tampa: The Library Coffeehouse.  Always on the lookout for cool places to drink coffee and brood, and finding out they served Buddy Brew coffee (all hail the BBC!), I decided to cruise on over.

I almost passed it by as I was driving.  Its store front is small and if you didn’t know it was there, it would be very easy to miss.  The interior of the shop is very cozy, inviting, and tastefully decorated.  The shop has a great picture window at the front letting in a lot of natural light and a substantial book library in the back. They had a Music Choice station on playing blues music.  That gets extra points as it was nice to hear something other than the Bob Marley I usually find myself subjected to at Starbucks. We get it!  We’ve all heard Legend!  It’s got decent songs!  “Satisfy My Soul” and all that!

Ahem.

I ordered a medium Café con Leche and a Balsamic Chicken Salad Sandwich on a croissant.  The coffee was good and had me properly caffeinated for the rest of the afternoon.  The Balsamic Chicken Salad Sandwich was fantastic.  The pleasantly mayonnaiseless chicken salad was a mix of finely chopped chicken, apples, and grapes with a balsamic vinaigrette enmeshed throughout.  It came with a lettuce leaf and some thin tomato slices.  The sandwich construction was top notch and left my pants as clean(ish) as when I walked in.  Food crotch is a daily affliction I struggle with.  It’s an epidemic that affects as many as one in three Americans.

The chicken salad held its separate flavors nicely and was never in danger of mutating into a uniform mash of amorphous blandness.  All of the ingredients were fresh and bright and worked very well together. I wish I’d gotten one or eight for the road.  The coffee and sandwich came to $11.82.

The proprietor and chief barista was very nice.  When she asked me how I found out about them, I lied and said I found them on Urbanspoon.  I was embarrassed by my failed blogsmanship in not having responded to the email that she sent me five months earlier.  Such bad form.  Carols Eats would be ashamed of me.

The Library Coffeeshop is a great find.  I can’t wait to go back.  I wish I found it earlier in the summer, as next week my ten month teaching headache begins anew (See you at Christmastime for the next post.).  If you’re in the area, stop by and patronize them.  They’re doing good work.’


The Library Coffeehouse

3201 S Dale Mabry
South Tampa, FL 33629
813-410-1927

The Library Coffeehouse on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to “The Library Coffeehouse: A Review”

  1. Art Matters August 10, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Shhhhh, don’t be telling everybody about the best kept secret in south Tampa lol.

    • thefoodjunk August 10, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      Sorry!

    • Debbie August 16, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

      No…..tell everyone you know…..I love to see new faces at our shop. Then when you come back a second time, you will be considered a “regular”….

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

